The 75th Cannes Movie Celebration has actually concluded with Saturday’s award event, where the nine-person jury called Ruben Östlund’s biting social satire Triangle of Unhappiness as the recipient of the prominent Palme D’Or. The English-language launching from the Swedish director stars Woody Harrelson as popular Marxist captain of a cruise liner for the mega-rich.

Getting an eight-minute standing ovation following its launching at the celebration, Triangle of Unhappiness’ win marks Östlund’s 2nd Palme d’Or—he formerly won with 2017’s The Square.

The second-highest award, the Grand Prix, was a tie in between Lukas Dhont’s Close and Claire Denis’ Stars at Twelve noon. To name a few recipients were Parasite‘s Tune Kang-ho, who took house Best Star for his function in Hirokazu Kore-eda’s Broker; Zar Amir-Ebrahimi was granted Best Starlet for her operate in criminal activity thriller Holy Spider. See the complete list of primary competitors winners listed below, thanks to Home entertainment Weekly:


Palme d’Or: Ruben Östlund, Triangle of Unhappiness

Grand Prix: TIE—Lukas Dhont, Close & Claire Denis, Stars at Twelve Noon

Best Director: Park Chan-wook, Choice to Leave

Best Starlet: Zar Amir-Ebrahimi, Holy Spider

Best Star: Tune Kang-ho, Broker

Best Movie Script: Tarik Saleh, Boy From Paradise

Jury Reward: TIE—Félix Van Groeningen and Charlotte Vandermeersch, The 8 Mountains & Jerzy Skolimowski, EO

75th Anniversary Reward: Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, Tori and Lokita

A complete list of winners can be discovered on Cannes’ main site.

Östlund Joins Unique List With Triangle of Unhappiness Win

In the 67-year history of the Palme d’Or, just 9 directors or co-directors have actually won the award two times. Triangle of Unhappiness‘ success places Ruben Östlund along with names like Francis Ford Coppola (The Discussion, Armageddon Now) and Emir Kusturica (When Dad Was Away on Company, Underground). Belgian filmmaking duo Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, who were granted this year’s 75th Anniversary reward for Tori and Lokita, are likewise amongst those on the list.

Östlund is likewise among just 3 directors who have actually won the Palme d’Or with successive movies; he shares the classification with Michael Haneke (The White Ribbon, Amour) and Billie August (Pelle the Conqueror, The Best Objectives).

Östlund’s very first Palme d’Or win was with 2017’s The Square, a satirical movie starring Claes Bang and Elisabeth Moss. The comedy-drama was likewise chosen for the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Movie in 2018, though it was eventually vanquished by Chilean A Wonderful Lady.

Although the North American release date for Triangle of Unhappiness is still TBA, you can capture up on Östlund’s filmography with The Square streaming on Hulu.